1. Faculté des Sciences
  2. en
  3. Faculty

Major awards and honours awarded to members of the Faculty of Sciences

The numerous awards that have been awarded to our researchers reflect the excellence of research at our internationally recognised Faculty of Sciences.

Nobel prize


François Englert (Physics, 2013)

The 2013 Nobel Prize in Physics was awarded to François Englert, Professor Emeritus of the Université libre de Bruxelles and to Professor Peter Higgs of the University of Edinburgh. 

It rewarded an outstanding theoretical work, which led in 1964 ✝ Robert Brout, François Englert and Peter Higgs, to propose a theoretical mechanism that plays a critical role in our understanding of the Universe.

Ilya Prigogine (Chemistry, 1977)

llya Prigogine (1917-2003) received the Nobel Prize in Chemistry in 1977. Of Russian origin but having studied in Belgium, Ilya Prigogine is known for his work on dissipative structures and the self-organisation of systems.

Professor of Chemistry in the Faculty of Sciences, he was also, from 1970 to 2003, director of the International Institutes of Physics and Chemistry, founded by E. Solvay. He has significantly contributed  to a better understanding of irreversible processes in out-of-equilibrium chemical, physical and biological systems.


The Abel Prize is awarded annually to mathematicians by the Norwegian Academy of Sciences and Letters. This award is inspired by the Nobel Prize, which does not exist in mathematics and rewards a whole scientific work.

Jacques Tits (2008), graduated from the ULB, professor at the ULB from 1956 to 1964

Pierre Deligne (2013), graduated from the ULB and Doctor Honoris Causa of the ULB in 2010


The Fields Medal is the most prestigious award in recognition of works in mathematics. Its purpose is to provide support to young mathematicians who have already made major contributions in this field. It is awarded every 4 years to 4 mathematicians under 40 years old.

Pierre Deligne (1978), graduated from the ULB and Doctor Honoris Causa of the ULB in 2010


The Wolf Awards have been officially awarded annually in Israel by the Wolf Foundation since 1978. Five or six awards are given to outstanding living artists and scientists, regardless of their nationalities, races, colours, religions, genders or political opinions , for achievements in the interests of humanity and peaceful relations between peoples.

International Prize for Mathematics :

  • Pierre Deligne (2008), graduated from the ULB, professor at the ULB from 1956 to 1964

  • Jacques Tits (1993), graduated from the ULB and Doctor Honoris Causa of the ULB in 2010

International Prize for Physics :

  • François Englert and Robert Brout (2004)


The Francqui Prize is a Belgian prize given annually since 1933 by the Francqui Foundation to a young Belgian scientist who has made a significant contribution to science.

Mathematical, chemical, physical sciences:

  • Pierre Gaspard (Non-linear physics and statistical mechanics , 2006)
  • Marc Henneaux (Theoretical physics, 2000)
  • François Englert (Theoretical physics, 1982)
  • Radu Balescu (Theoretical physics, 1970)
  • Ilya Prigogine (Theoretical chemistry and physics, 1955)
  • Frans-H. van den Dungen (/Mechanics, 1946)
  • Jacques Errera (Physical chemistry, 1938)

Natural and Medical Sciences:

  • Etienne Pays (Parasitology, 1996)
  • Jacques Urbain (Immunology, 1987)
  • René Thomas (Molecular Biology, Genetics, 1975)
  • Hubert Chantrenne (Molecular Biology, 1963)
  • Raymond Jeener (Molecular Biology, 1954)
  • Jean Brachet (Molecular Biology, 1948)

FNRS Awards

These prestigious prizes, awarded every five years, are intended to confirm the international recognition and celebrate the career of researchers in all scientific disciplines from the French-speaking Community of Belgium.


Exact Sciences:

  • Marc Henneaux (Theoretical Physics, 2011-2015)
  • Albert Goldbeter (Chemistry, 2006-2010)
  • Jean Jeener (Physics, 1986-1990)
  • Pierre Deligne (Mathematics, 1971-1975) graduated from the ULB
  • Ilya Prigogine (Chemistry, 1961-1965)

Biological and medical sciences:

  • Etienne Pays (Parasitology, 1996-2000)
  • René Thomas (Molecular biology, 1981-1985)
  • Hubert Chantrenne (Molecular biology, 1976-1980)


The main activity of the European Research Council is to support the careers of excellent independent researchers in all fields of science. It supports two types of researchers: young researchers at the beginning of their career (between 3 and 8 years after obtaining their PhD) (ERC Starting Grant) and experienced researchers (ERC Advanced Grant).

Advanced Grant

Marc Henneaux (Theoretical Physics, 2016)

Etienne Pays (Molecular biology, 2015)

Marc Henneaux (Theoretical Physics, 2010)

Consolidator Grant

Joel Fine (Mathematics, 2015)

Samuel Fiorini (Mathematics, 2013)

Starting Grant

Nathan Goldman (Physics, 2016)

Geoffrey Compère (Physics, 2013)

Vinciane Debaille (Geology, 2013)

Antoine Gloria (Mathematics, 2013)

Jean-François Raskin (Computer Sciences, 2011)

Frédéric Bourgeois (Mathematics, 2009) 


The HFSP offers postdoctoral fellowships (Long-Term and Cross-Disciplinary Fellowships) allowing young scientists to train in the best laboratories abroad.

Long-term fellowships

  • Benoît Vanhollebeke (Parasitology, 2009)

  • Guillaume Smits (Molecular biology, 2004)

Programmes conjoints Program Grants

  • Luc Vanhamme (Parasitology, 2004)

Updated on April 15, 2019